Isn't everything in the world a volumetric?

I was experimenting with a node setup, and it occurred to me, pretty much everything is basically volumetric (in as much as, we have a lot of empty space between our atoms, and indeed, in our atoms).

So I did an experiment. Default cube with just a volume shader, rendered at 10x density each time. At around 1000 density, it starts to look solid (3rd iteration). By the time you get to the 6th iteration (1,000,000) it’s a solid black cube.

Shouldn’t volume be the default PBR shader, since essentially, everything is volume in RL.

I’m by no means an expert, but I was watching a lecture about light transport simulations, and one of the main reasons that the Maxwell equations aren’t feasible on their own for rendering is that it models light on a nanometer scale. Though physically correct, there is a realistic limit to our computing power and thus we need a computational model that approximates how light works in the real world.

Everything in CG is a cheat. We shade our objects to look like they are skin or glass or have texture, but it is all a cheat to approximate reality with the resources we have available. Modeling objects to the atom-level would be not only impossible in the scale of a human’s lifetime, but in the limited computational abilities we have at this time.

5 Likes

Basically what Hunkadoodle said, everything is an approximation. Shading models get more refined year after year, but they still only approximate reality. It’s an efficiency problem, where you strive for the highest “accuracy vs. time” ratio.

If you look at the old “Cycles volume shader” thread, you’ll see awesome examples of hardsurface models being “carved” out of a box with triplanar-projected textures.

(although I can’t find these specific images at this link)

1 Like