Isometric graphics: City Island 2

Hi everybody!
Not so long ago an android game called “City Island 2” was released @Google Play and finally I’m able to share a couple of images showing some of my progress.

I’ve been working on different city building games for the last 2-3 years and I must say that the task itself to create an isometric building isn’t that complicated in a matter of modeling or texturing than it is in creating the whole product quickly- to beat the deadlines most of the items had to be done in a 3 hours. During the period of 6 months we created about 600 items.

My role as a lead artist in this project was to create a visual concept based on a prequel, keep every item within this concept, organise the workflow for other team members and besides that I had to work with each aspect of visuals, since we are a really small team, that means I designed not only the buildings, but also the icons, buttons, windows and of course the splash screen.

I hope that you’ll enjoy my artwork and please feel free to share your comments!
To see more images, you can visit my portfolio @Behance https://www.behance.net/ugis_brekis or you can visit my artblog(I already apologise for being lazy on writing on regular basis, but I will try to provide more in depth info about the project quite soon) http://ub-artlog.blogspot.co.uk/

wow. lovely. How exactly did you positioned the camera to get the right angle for isometric perspective?

kohg- Thank you! Well, I believe that it isn’t 100% correct isometric view, because the angles I’m using differ from the original ones, but the main rule was that the ground plane have to be 2:1 in scale(2 units wide, 1 unit high), that means camera must be rotated along X:60, Y:0, Z:45 and of course lens have to be set to orthographic.

I see, i’ll have to try that method. Was this rendered in cycles btw? or BI?

kohg- for all of my projects I’ve been using BI, however for the next one I’m thinking of switching to cycles. :slight_smile: