Issue with mesh when smooth shaded - Solved!

Hi there! I’m still very new to modeling, and I am trying to create a fairly simple train in Blender 2.8, but I’m having some issues when I try setting the shading to smooth (with the intent of making a higher poly version using subdivision surface modifier to bake normals so that my edges aren’t razor sharp).

The issue is that when I set the shading to smooth, I notice some of my geometry isn’t reading as a continuous surface. I’ve tried removing doubles, and I’ve tried to line things up so that I have edge loops going whereever possible, but I feel like I am missing something very fundamental, and would appreciate any advice.

Here’s what I’m seeing:

As you can see, the shading breaks quite wonderfully when the shading is set to smooth. I should also point out that I am, indeed, very new to this, and if you see better ways of doing anything, I would be very grateful for guidance.

Happy to provide the .blend file if that would help, thank you for your time!

I’m a beginner too and I face such issues the way I do to solve it
1- use remesh modifier
2- go edit mode - select all - Ctrl +n
3- go edit mode - W - remove doubles ( you did this solution )
4- some times I create some bevels
But I can see there is some issue with vertex on the right
Give them a try might help and sorry for my little experience :blossom:

have you got any internal faces?

@Mohammed_Terry Thanks for the suggestions! I tried those of these that I hadn’t already tried (although I’m not sure what ctrl+n does, it seemed to want to make something new entirely, but my issues still linger. I appreciate the ideas, though!

@wolfie138 I do not, and in fact I did delete a few internal faces at one point - I wonder if that made any issues? Here’s a look at the mesh from the other side, without the mirror modifier on:

Thanks!

If you plan on subdividing, this may be of interest too.