Its a toss up (title that is)

I am far from being done but I do know exactly (for the main part) what it will all be. This will be my first (serious) post of something that I hope turns out what the mind wants it to be. I am hoping to incorperate particles with it along with some meta to give you an idea where this is going maybe think on the terms of heaven and hell. the dowels are far from being done, well its all far from being done but I thought I would post something. As it goes further I will post more. I am still learning this great tool (heh not a tool but the whole factory if you ask me). There is so much to learn but yet where to begin and where to draw the line on how far you go until you comprehend the basics ( I think thats how I wanted to say it). Anyways until next time!

http://www.rodneyhalaquist.com/blenderwork/hrglassbegin.JPG

sounds like a cool concept

Yea the concept is nice, it came from a sketch I was trying to make a long time ago for someone who wanted a tattoo (more on that later). I was never able to finish though cause my drawing skills (to me) were not really all that good for getting the 3 dimensional look.

Anyway hope someone will see this I figured seeing it pertains to this project I would just ask here instead of asking in another thread elsewhere.
I am sure there is a way and might figure/find it out by the time an answer is posted but just in case I don’t, I am wanting to re-size (s) a ring/circle of vertices’s of each post at the same time from their centers, I tried a few things but seeing the posts are part of the object and not separate object themselves I think is where I am missing something as far as “object centers” go. So the question is can I and if so size the before mentioned at the same time and if so how? Thanks in advance!