Jagged subsurf : newbie needs assistance please.

Hi,
I’m new to blender and so far I love it.
I’m learning the interface and have not yet learned much about rendering.
I have rendered an object and it seems not to be rendered as it should: it’s a bit jagged and I can not figure out what is going wrong. (I’ve searched the manual and the forums.)
It is not a Blender resize problem I guess because the render is only 800x600.
OSA is enabled (8).
Only when I freeze the object with subsurf one, and add a new subsurf with Render Level 5 it renders smoothly. (Render Level 6 makes Blender crash!)
Thank you for helping me out.
Dominiek.
render: http://users.skynet.be/dominus/blenderpics/tire6.jpg

EDIT:
I solved it I guess, although I do not know exactly how.
I deleted the subsurf modifier, did CTRL n-key (Recalculate Normals Outside), added a new subsurf and with only Render Level 2 the object rendered fine.

Could anyone explain me when you have to Recalculate Normals Outside ?

Thanks, Dominiek.

Succeeded render: http://users.skynet.be/dominus/blenderpics/tire6Succes.jpg

Yikes!
Did not have time to comb through all of these.

You have to recalculate the normals from the outside when they’re not all pointing to the outside but you need them to.
Edit mode > Editing (F9) > Mesh tools one > Draw normals :wink:

What you do if you want a smoothed looking mesh in Blender when you render is:

1. Select your mesh you want smoothed.

2. In the F9 menu, under “Links and Materials” panel (on the left), there’s a “set smooth” button at the bottom of that panel.

Alternatively, you could use hotkeys to quickly set smooth. To use the short cut hot keys, press:

W - > Alt + 3

. . .when you’re in edit mode and make sure all your vertices are selected if you want the entire mesh to be smoothed and not just part of the mesh.