Jeep + Environment ( Jeep Wilys 1942)

Hey Everyone!

Thought I’d quickly introduce myself through a current blender project of mine. I’m modeling the Jeep Willys 1943 model, but I really want to add a story telling value by adding lots of objects and an environment as well. There’s still lots I have to model in terms of the actual car, but here’s how its is for the moment. I’ll be posting more stuff soon!

I actually learned 3D by using 3DS Max, but in my uni we’re also learning blender and apart from the extensive shortcuts that are involved in the workflow, it wasn’t too much of a hassle to get deeper into blender. Plus, I’ve wanted to get serious in 3D for a while and relaly be a part of the blender community, it’s really amazing to see just how far an open source community can get, Blender is simply incredible! I’ve been missing out on the fun haha :smiley:

Just a quick introduction, I’m actually a concept artist and illustrator, I’m 19 and studying 3D Design in the CAD (College of Advertising and Design in Brussels, Belgium). I thought adding 3D to my toolset would allow me to get more opportunities aside from the fact of giving REAL (well almost…) life to my characters and environments. You can check my portfolio here: www.luisfelipeart.com

rendered in cycles

looks good. welcome to the blender community. and yes, blender is quite amazing. people used to scoff at me when I said it would be competitive with commercial packages some day, but it seems to be getting there.

It looks like you’ve got a good base to work off of, Luis! Do you have an idea of what kind of environment you’d like to put it in when you’re done?
I saw some of the work on your site, it looks very good! You must work very hard to produce so many works.

@Modron Thanks! Feels good to be here :slight_smile: Blender definitely is amazing, who knows, maybe in just a few years Blender could become THE “industry standard”