JFlow Alpha - GPU accelerated Fire and Smoke Simulator

Hi, I’m an author of an experimental GPU accelerated Smoke and Fire simulator called (for now) JFlow Alpha. It is a continuation of the previous thread for anyone interested in the development of such app.

18 Likes

Here is a short test I’ve made yesterday.

8 Likes

damnnnnn blender’s own embergen ??? haha . looks amazing man … keep it up

2 Likes

Something like that :slight_smile: . Probably worse as I’m doing it alone, after hours and without budget (also I’m still studying so my skill is not that great). But the idea is to make fast and good looking simulations possible to anyone

6 Likes

I saw this last year, and my god is it incredible! Great job - really looking forward to future updates!

1 Like

if you really fledge this out , you can make lots of money with the addon or better you can sell it to blender and/or shoot a dev employment to be payed to develop it

Some new tests

14 Likes

That’s really cool, or should I say hot.
Really great work. Even if it’s not perfect I’d suggest you put it on BlenderMarket and make it easily installable, I think a lot of people would find it useful. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Okey,

I’ve made a lot of internal changes and optimizations.
One of the biggest ones are reduction of memory usage in GUI mode by almost 50% and reduction of baking memory usage by around 30%. That means that during baking a 300x400x300 scene uses 1,3GB of VRAM. Below are some screenshots from blender of such scene (low resolution capture, I’ll render it maybe later as I’m still fine-tuning the shader)

And another scene with 650^3 resolution that requires 7,5GB of VRAM

8 Likes

Sill Windows only, no Mac?

1 Like

For now Windows and CUDA only, as I don’t have a Mac or a Radeon card. If I ever get enough money to buy one I’ll make a Metal and HIP version but for now I just don’t have any money for that.

1 Like

From the last video there are a lot of internal changes: