Just a few questions

Hi there. As you can see I’m new to Blender and also to the world of 3D art. I have some experience in coding (only C++ as of now). I would like to design/make a game, typically for PC. I have a few queries about this area:

Questions:

1. I am going to use Blender (because its free :D) and also UDK. Is that all I need in order to make a game?
  2. Would knowing C++ help my on my adventure to learn computer language? I looked around internet and bottomline is that if I am going to use those 2 softwares, I should know UnrealScript and Python for Blender. Is it possible to make a game without knowing those 2 languages?
  3. Overall, would I just need to make the art/models in Blender and then export them in Unreal Engine?

There were other questions that I wanted to ask but cant remember them. Will post them up when I remember them.

1. You’d probably also need an Image Editor (like Photoshop or GIMP), an Audio Editor (like Audacity), and a code development environment (Visual Studio, XCode, or at least something with syntax coloring like BBedit) as well.

2. Yes, knowing C++ is pretty foundational to all coding. Most other languages share a lot of common ideas/methods with C.

Yes it is possible to make a game without using Python or UnrealScript, if you coded the whole engine yourself from the ground up in C++ or used another proprietary game engine like CryENGINE, but since those (blender and unreal) are the tools you chose, you will have to learn them.

1. Game development never quite goes exactly according to plan. You may have to find other tools to fix problems that arise. But I think in general, yeah you could probably get a lot done with just blender + unreal engine.