Keep bones outside of a mesh

Hi everyone! I am trying to create an IK chain, and I would like the bones of such chain to stay outiside of a mesh. They should also, ideally, stretch, in case I pull the IK controller. How could I achieve this? I tried stuff as limit distance or shrinkwrap constraints, but I could make it work… any advice is super welcome!

Here’s an image that will hopefully explain better what I am trying to achieve.

Thanks!

I am pretty new to this myself so I may be misunderstanding the first part of your question regarding the bones being outside the mesh.

In the object properties window you can select the “In Front” option to make the bones always visible over the mesh:-

cheers,

andy

Hi Andy, thanks for your reply.

Unfortunately that’s not what I am looking for: I am trying for a way to keep bones outside of the mesh physically, not visually. So basically when I move the IK controller, the bones should react to the mesh surface and stay outside. It has something to do with constraints.

I hope this is clearer now! :slight_smile: Thanks however for taking the time to answer! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Ah, okay, sorry about that :slight_smile:

I’ve just checked your profile and you have been here since 2010! I should have checked that before replying.

I hope you get the answer to your question :+1:

cheers

andy

1 Like

not at all, it’s always nice when someone tries to help! Beside, doesn’t matter the experience… solution sometimes might be just that simple :wink:

1 Like

Since you’re okay with stretch, you could start with a layer of guide IK, then a layer of children of IK bones with shrinkwrap constraints parented to the IK guide bones, then a layer of deforming bones parented to and stretching-to the shrinkwrapped bones:

1 Like

so basically I guess this means using different bones… Ok, it’s quite late here, thanks for your answer tomorrow morning I’ll give it a go and I’ll let you know how it went!

ended up trying it now :smiley: