Keying 1 axis for multiple objects

Hello, everyone. I have a question… Is there really no possible way to key a single channel in Blender for several objects? I am a noob at blender and I am baffled with this. I’ve tried to create keying sets or linking then unlinking animations for multiple objects. But first method lacks in, that it keys set channels in those object independent of me have them selected or not. The second method destroys all previous animation if it was done on the objects earlier…

I am in a bind here. Please maybe some one could explain to me?

P.s. I could use existing keying set - like location or rotation or locrot and etc. But this solution throws in a numerous amount of unnecessary keys in other 2 channels. And I do need to work with 400+ objects at once.

Big Thank you in advance, I tried searching for solution my self, but I am not well acquainted with terminology of blender yet.

1 Like

I am not sure I have completely understood exactly what you are trying to do here, but some ideas for you:

1. Make multiple objects all rotate about a common point: Parent them all to one “control” object and rotate that one object. This could be a bone in an armature BTW.

2. Make multiple objects rotate about their individual origins: Add a driver to each object that uses a common “target” object, so you rotate the target object and al the rest rotate automatically. You can vary the driver values to rotate the objects different amounts. You can also do the with Transformation Constraints.

3. Make multiple objects rotate about a set of control objects: I would use Animation Nodes here and then Loop sub-routines in AN to control all the objects using variables based on their position in the object list, or some other value, like their Group name.