Kinda total noob here with dilemma.

I have been familiar with Blender for some time and 3d in general for some time but have never taken the plunge seriously into a package. Awhile back I bough several books on Blender that have been gathering dust pretty much since I bought them (due to either lack of time, motivation/inspiration, whathaveyou).

Alas now I have the time to dive right in but now I see books hitting the shelve for the upcoming Blender 2.6 release. My question/dilemma is did I waste all that money on the books that were geared toward the current 2.49 version? Will most of what I lean in those books be useless in the upcoming release?

I’ve looked and read on changes and additions, but they are kind of lost to me because I don’t know what the old Blender is to really understand what a particular change/addition/subtraction means in teh new version compared to the old one.

Anyway, I have the books Blender for Dummies, Essential Blender, Animating WIth Blender, The Blender Gamekit 2nd Ed, Bounce, Tumble & Splash, Intro to Characted Animation with Blender, and Mastering Blender.

It really pains me to think this investment is for nothing. Are these books now obsolete with the upcoming release?

Thanks for buying the books of the previous versions, but in my opinion those books will always be worth their weight in gold. If something can be in a previous version, figuring out how to do it in a later version will always be a piece of cake.

for nothing? What have you learned from them? Just where buttons and menus are? Because feature and skill set is still pretty much the same in any 3D package.

Good books should teach the essence, the kernel of knowledge, not the fragile outer shell…

No you haven’t wasted your money at all. 2.49 is still the most reliable version.

But even if you want to use 2.5x 90% of the techniques you’ll learn will be directly transferable.