Laptops and rendering

I have a question for anyone who can help. How can I lower render times on a laptop? I’ve been using a laptop for two years now, and I havnt produced anything good because I don’t have the time to render. Just a simple scene with a cube takes almost an hour!

I have persistantly asked my mother to allow me to buy a desktop computer, and I found a quad core, touchscreen for only $794, but she refuses to buy it…

Is there anyway possible that i can still produce a good looking render, faster on my laptop?

Learn how to cheat, instead of using ray-tracing use environment maps (reflections), use buffer shadows (Spot lamp) instead of ray-traced shadows, also use lights with negative values to replicate a small amount of Ambient Occlusion. EDIT: Very important!! Make use of render layers and split up your scene so instead of rendering everything at once (including various passes), you are just rendering foreground, middle ground and background along with custom layers. I.e. Diffuse, shadow, spec, depth for background and so on so forth.

You can make good renders with limited hardware, for example render out a scene with a number of passes, take those passes into Photoshop or GIMP and combine the layers with additional layers that include filter FX, painting, layer effects etc.

Don’t let hardware limit you, think outside the box and be creative.

As for hardware you could get a quad-core machine with 4GB+ RAM and a good video card, plus 19"+ TFT with keyboard and mouse for much less than $794, I’d be willing to bet you could get a machine much more capable for about $450-500.

I work on laptops as well and no big issue here.

Maybe you just need to be patient and also consider what is a good rendering.
does it always need to be GI? What is the purpose of the rendering for?

Plus do you render during the night when you sleep?