LEGO Technic Lamborghini

Hi.

I’m new to blender. I’m using 3.1. This is one of my first models. I modeled each individual piece and started building my own LEGO parts library from scratch using the Asset Library. The car was assembled using linked assets from that library. The renders are done in Cycles.

I didn’t bother with the decals. I did do some procedural texturing for the tires and other rubbery parts though.

I’m a huge LEGO fan. This set has 3696 parts according to Rebrickable. It was good practice modeling it. :grinning:

61 Likes

Wow!

Although I’m not into lego per se but do appreciate the effort and skill finalising this piece, good job.

Plus just noticed I think, the addition of DOF which is also a nice touch too :sunglasses:

3 Likes

Wait, so if I understand correctly, you modelled every individual piece, and then placed them all by hand??? If so, then that must have taken some serious patience!

Either way, great job, it looks amazing!

2 Likes

Thank you. Yes. Depth of field. It took me a sec to find the settings for it. I think it definitely helps things look more realistic. I first used DOF in the last 3D app I used. Blender’s is probably even easier to use—now that I know how. :wink:

Pretty much, yes. I modeled each different type of piece separately. Then I marked each one as an asset. Most of the parts were used more than once. I reused the same linked asset over again in these cases. I also used a bit of a shortcut. When I figured out which subassemblies were just mirror images of each other, I just placed them once and then mirrored them. The LEGO instructions don’t always make that obvious; so, it takes some study to figure out what is what. Even with some of these shortcuts, it was still starting to slow down my somewhat old computer by the end.