Let's talk about Walk Animations

Many tutorials explains how to make a walk cycle, but only very few of them actually tells you how to move your character forward while the feet stick to the ground.

The problem I’m facing however, is a bit more complex than this:

I want to do a walk, then stop, then climb a tree and then jump over a cliff.

How would a pro animator approach this task?

More specifically I’d like to know if a pro animator would choose to move the Root bone at all, or only move the character forward step by step? Also I’d like to know if a pro animator would approach this task using Pose-To-Pose or Straight Ahead?

I’m not a pro animator, but for the kind of action you’re describing, I can’t imagine a walk cycle would ever be used. Instead, you’d shoot some reference footage and then do pose-to-pose animation. The root bone would probably not be moved unless absolutely necessary.

1 Like

It is not easy and requires a lot of adjustments, but I couldn’t find a better or an easier way. So I Use Follow curve constraint.

The problem with the Follow Curve constraint is that you cannot put it to a hold and have the character stop halfway through the curve, then follow it again. Not that I know of.

Hi Mediumaevum

The simple answer to your questions is animation baking. This is what baking is for.

Create your walk cycle.

Load the walk cycle action. Constrain the rig to a path or move the root bone. Slide or scale the keys if necessary to tweak to positioning and timing. Bake it in as solid keys. Then animate the climbing of the tree.

1 Like