Lifeline

For this project, my initial idea was simply to have a Go scene, but I obviously wanted it to look somehow interesting. Initially, I was just going to have a group of pieces and call it “surrounded”; but in the end I went for something a little more meaningful:

I decided to call it “Lifeline”. As you my have guessed, I used the (extremely helpful) cycles material library for the wood textures. I used a focal length of ~23. It rendered in just over an hour (on CPU). If you would like any more technical information, then please do ask.

Please comment and tell me what you think!

bump. thoughts, anyone?

Wow. I really love the idea, and it looks amazing. I’m by no means a pro, but if you’re looking for some cc, I’d say that the perspective makes the darker bowl in the bottom right look a bit uncomfortable, so I’d use a higher focal length. Just a thought.

Pretty good. The baby shape is obvious, though it looks better on thumbnail image, when zoomed in it gets lost and a little confusing. Materials are good, would be nice to see some dirt/dust. Textures are also nice, though those on pots look a little stretched to me. Also that arch made of white pieces seems unstable (in case you were going for physical accuracy).

Generally it’s very nice, I like the idea and simplicity :slight_smile:

gilly: I think I’d agree with you on that. I was trying to find a good angle, and the best I found was from above, but I didn’t want it to feel too orthographic, so I changed the focal length a bit. I was obviously mistaken!

Pivac: Yeah, I wasn’t sure about adding wear-and-tear. I guess I thought I could get away from it due to the symbolic nature of the piece… maybe not!
As to the pots, I thought so too, but apparently they are like that in real life…
The arch is purely symbolic. It’s supposed to be somehow “breaking the rules for the sake of life”. Perhaps I may have made the message a little too ambiguous…

Thanks both of you! Your points were very helpful!