Lightweight Distros For 12th/13th Gen Intel And Blender?

Hi. I’m not sure if I’ll get 12th gen, 13th gen, or a new amd pc.

Which distroses would you recommend for Blender?
It’d be cool if it’s

• a free one.
  • so, apparently, my Os only has OpenGL 3.3. So I can’t even open Blender 4 Alpha. But my Radeon HD 5770 Gpu should have 4.4. I don’t wanna buy a new gpu, only to find out my Os only allows up to 3.3
  • lightweight: I think Blender’s slower on Ubuntu than my current Zorin Lite Os
  • uses Cpu to its full potential. It sounds like Ubuntu can use all cores/threads, including efficiency cores. Is there a lightweight distros that can do this, too?
  • simple to use. I’m no Linux expert. Whenever something goes wrong, I have to ask on forums when using Terminal.

Or… Should I just use Windows 11? I switched to Ubuntu because I kept having to reinstall Windows (though this was on a previous, really slow laptop). Ps I don’t have windows rn. Guess I’d have to buy a new pc that comes with it.

I gotta say, it seems like Ubuntu is exactly what you’re looking for- GUI, fairly lightweight, modern drivers, and full CPU potential. You don’t need to use the terminal at all. What’s not working for you with Ubuntu?

can even go xubuntu (ubuntu distro with xfce as the window manager) for even slightly more lightweight. though i’ve not tried it with blender

Like i said, I tried a custom renderer (Beer/Malt) on my current Os, Zorin Lite. Very slow, probably wasn’t working properly.
When I tried it on Ubuntu, it was even slower.
I didn’t check the openGL version on Ubuntu tho. Apparently, it’s only 3.3 on Zorin Lite for me, when it could be 4.4

So each of these Ubuntu flavours are lightweight:

• Lubuntu (requires 700MHz single cpu, 512MB Ram, 5GB “memory”)
  • Ubuntu Kylin (pentium or celeron, 512MB ram required)
  • Ubuntu Unity
  • Xubuntu (Intel or Amd 64-bit cpu and 1GB ram required, 2GB recommended)
    https://ubuntu.com/desktop/flavours