Logic Overload in BGE?

Is it possible to use too many logic bricks in BGE? In a very complex and large game is it wise to mix Python with bricks?

I’m no pro at blender, but I’ve used Python in games before. First off, I am fairly certain logic bricks are done in python. I also know that python is not fast. BGE does a great job at optimizing it, but too much logic will eventually bog you down. I heard somewhere that the logic bricks are more expensive computationally than a script, so if you plan on using a lot I would try to script as much as possible. There are loads of articles and tutorials out there explaining how to best use python for the least amount of overhead.

I’ve already written a couple scripts for testing (I’m literally just getting started with Blender and BGE) and when I TRIED to break it I only ever saw just about 40fps loss. All things considered that’s really not bad at all.

My advice: Knock yourself out. Do whatever will get your concept out the fastest while keeping in mind ways to reuse logic where you can, or “fake” logic using the BGE engine (ie physics). IF you run into trouble, go back and adjust what needs fixing. There’s something to be said for doing it right the first time, and there’s also something to be said for not spending an eternity on one project.

That was probably a lot more words than you wanted, but there you go. :slight_smile:

It all depends…

Yes, you can have too many bricks. You have too many bricks when you open the blend file tomorrow, and can’t figure out how things work. This usually is a long time before they make a dent on processor time.

It is wise to mix python with logic bricks.
Python allows you to do complex things more simply. But it also allows you to do a lot of things that you couldn’t otherwise do, and with those extra things, comes extra computation time.