Looking for ideas for an add-on

I’m a beginner in python and we have an assignement to make a small project, an addon of same kind. I’m a bit undecided on what I should do. Is there any fun but simple scripts you can make that would stand out in a beginner class? I just need some ideas. Not the full code on how to do it.

2 Likes

Welcome to BA :slight_smile:
This is an interesting assignment. Usually, the process for making add-ons is to identify a problem and create a solution. Do you have any problems in Blender? Things that you feel could be faster? Things you find yourself doing repetitively that could be automated? Missing functionality?

Aside from that… the easiest things to do in Python are probably text work and file editing. What if you took some data from Blender, made it pretty, parsed it to JSON, and outputted it as a file? This is all quite simple to do, and it can be both useful and interesting :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hmm, what kind of data would be interesting to write to a file and what do you mean by “make it pretty”? I haven’t worked with text in any of the tutorials I’ve gone through so it’s actually new ground. I’ve only done an addon menu that can add and manipulate objects. I also know how to add shaders lol.

The thing is that we’re going to demonstrate this to the class so I would prefer something more “flashy”. Any other ideas?

1 Like

Hi there,
If possible, maybe import render settings from a file? Not sure if this already exists tho.

Key comb. in Blender to save the config folder before installing a new version.

Import textboxes into shader or GN editor from a notepad file, based on paras or " " marks, e.g. all will be a different textbox.

Okay these are not so needes tbh, just from the top of my head :grin: