Looking for some tips from the physics pros on here

This is a topic I have seen multiple times but I thought I would revisit, given that most of what I have found are old questions and I’m sure have since been forgotten.

Long story short, in cycles, clear coat doesnt look right. Can someone explain to me, with some degree of explanation as to the physics being used by blender specifically, how blender principled is handling clear coat and if you already know any special workarounds mathematically to resolving a few issues like how there is no change to the underlying layer value wise when clear coat is set to one, and why the reflections generally look like they are missing?

Let me add to that. To start. I have been using various different engines for close to 12 years now and I am certainly not new to blender or cycles, and I know what I a asking is not a ““typical”” feature of most render engines, at least that I have noticed. In my experience this almost always needs to be faked. But, given that few engines like cycles and arnold give you an extreme amount of control using math nodes and different mix drivers (well call them drivers because I am actually not sure if there is a technical word for it, if there is I would love to know), I figure, if there is a more accurate way to fake these issues than just eyeballing a layer weight facing value and eyeballing a color value change, then it would be possible in one of these engines, and given the size of the blender community I figure ill start there.

Here is a test comparing a physically modeled clear coat and a shader using “clearcoat” set to 1.