Luxcore Scene Revisited and Altered

I started playing around with Luxcore a couple of days ago and I thought I’d give a try to this engine in order to see its pros and cons. I downloaded the Luxcore 2.1 Benchmark scene from here, because I really liked the mood and the feeling of it, and I started altering materials, removing and adding objects etc. I downloaded some free models from 3dsky (bottle of wine and plaster ornaments) and added 4 simple wine glasses in order to see how glass renders with this engine. Not the perfect example, I know, but I can’t remember glasses looking so real in Cycles.

Of course, I still have many things to learn. I just started. The image isn’t perfect, and I couldn’t find a way to remove noise from some specific parts (even with OIDN enabled), but I think I’ll continue to experiment with Luxcore, because I think it has a great potential, especially in archviz scenes like this one.

I slightly edited the image in Photoshop (I removed some fireflies and noisy spots here and there), mostly adding contrast and lowering some burned highlights. That’s all.

The chair used in this scene is an old model of mine. I made it in Rhino, several years ago. It’s a modern Italian style living room/dining chair. I hope you like the conception.

All credits to the Luxcore development team. I wish we could see this render engine integrated in Blender by default some day. I don’t know if this is even possible, but it’s a wish. Cycles is much more complex in its node system and powerful in parametric stuff and creativity, but Luxcore has a good setup for interiors especially and caustics of course, something we’ve been missing in Cycles and it’s a must in archviz and interior scenes.

PS I downloaded the LuxcoreRender v2.5 beta from the LuxcoreRender Forums.

PS2 Artstation Link

19 Likes