Major request for 2.51

Yes 2.51, I have no idea what the next version will be after Durian is complete, but after fighting with getting “into” python for the last few days…coming from a “C” background…I thought why am I fighting with this, can we not have “C” integrated into blender like we do with python?..I’m not experienced enough to do something on this level(especially, since I have not looked at blender code…ever)
-anyway I would love to see the option to use “C” right inside of blender…(compiling…is one problem…on the fly???)

-Justin

IANAP, but I do know enough to understand that blender is fundamentally built around OO programming.

That means tons of classes and function within a function type stuff that would really make it a mess trying to create an API for a non-OO language like C. Basically it would involve re-writing tons of the core code.

I think blender is written in C which is not an OO language…

deathguppie: Blender’s straight c, and while it has some object-like stuff going on, it’s not for example a class-based project.

On this general topic – it ain’t going to happen.

yeah I feel your pain… I come from a delphi background, and wrapping my head around python took a while… until I actually forced myself to start writing scripts with it, then it just seemed to come together really quickly…
its not actually that bad- you will get it quickly im sure

Slippery ground. OOP is more about the conception that the language. Anyway, I think Blender 2.5 allows a more easier integration of other scripting languages. The only thing is to write the wrapping to the target language and consider C as a target scripting language.
http://root.cern.ch/drupal/content/cint.

EDIT : However, I think you’f be better by learning OOP concepts and practicing them with python. Python will then seem to be just english with some extra dots in the middle of sentences.

Dani