Make solid

Hi

I’m new to Blender. It looks good, but it’s a very steep learning curve for me!

Could someone point me in the right direction please? I’d like to prepare the map for 3D printing and I’d like it to be solid.

I’ve looked at the solidify modifier on the ground object but that didn’t give me the result that I wanted. I think I need to join the ground, sides and bottom objects to give me a hollow map and then to fill in the resulting object so that it’s no longer hollow?

Any help would be gratefully received, thanks.

Try selecting all the parts then CTRL-J Object-Join.
You don’t need to fill the inner parts, hollow is ok as long as your object has the correct structure (manifold).
To check if the object is ok for printing, you can use the 3d printing utilities. It comes within Blender own addons:

Activate it by going to preferences, addons tab, and searching for its name.
After that, run a check with “check all”

1 Like

Thanks very much for your speedy reply.

I joined the 3 objects but it’s still exporting as an stl with 2 objects.

I think I do need it to be solid as I’m trying to cut a shape out of it in Shapr3D (I haven’t worked out how to create the shape in Blender yet) and Shapr is saying that ‘sheet body cannot be selected’. Not sure if that’s because the object needs to be solid or whether the ground/edges aren’t joined to the bottom.

Also I’d be printing out small, about 3.5cm x 1cm so being solid would give it a bit of strength.

Thanks again.

Hi! Did you tried the “Manifold” command as he told you? You need to activate 3d Printing first!

A plane in 3D modelling applications is two dimensional, but the default cube will 3D print as solid. The solidify modifier, perhaps unintuitively, will make it hollow inside.

It looks like you may have an unapplied Boolean modifier, so it’s likely there are indeed at least two objects.