MakeHuman MHX2 Plugin in 4.0

Hi everyone,

I have a bit of a niche case and am looking for pointers how to fix my workflow.

I have built a little one-man pipeline for low poly animations using custom proxy meshes in MakeHuman. My goal is speed and the big benefit of Makehuman is that I can customize a character and import it into Blender fully rigged (with the MHX2 rig, as Rigifiy import has been broken for ages). Now the importer and, of course, the bone layer selector for the rigs are broken.

MHX2 isn’t really supported anymore and I actually fixed some issues myself when there were API changes in Blender in recent versions. However, I’m no programmer. Those issues were easily fixable if you understand the basic syntax. The switch from bone layers to bone collections (and possibly other things) is much more complex, at least to me. I looked at the error messages but barely understand where to start.

So what I’m asking: Would anyone be willing to fix the importer or have any ideas how I can approch a fix?

hey unluccy,

the last issue on the repo seems to point to here which in turn refers to this addon.

if that doesn’t solve your issue, let me know, maybe i could have a try at it,

cheers

Hey Kyeo, thanks for replying!

Sorry for the late reply but I wanted to make sure I tried MFPB2 thoroughly. I’ve known of the further developments for MakeHuman but for my workflow they are all way way worse than MHX2. Importing my proxy mesh human from MakeHuman works somewhat well with MFPB2 in 3.6, but even then I get error messages.

Worse, though, is that you don’t just get a working rig as with MHX2. I only managed to get a “broken” Rigifiy rig for my character, which would be “usable” but still pretty bad, because the Layer UI doesn’t work right.