Making Assemblies in Blender

Hi,

I am an engineer and product designer and I am starting to use Blender as my rendering software.
My designs are basically made of several components so the final product is an assembly of them all.

My workflow is quite straightforward:

• modeling and designing in Fusion 360
  • rendering in Blender
  • post-processing in Photoshop

The transfer from Fusion 360 to Blender is made through a file conversion. I export each component as an obj files that is then used in Blender. Since Fusion is not able to generate a obj file of an assembly, each, I need to rebuild the assembly once in Blender.

I would like to know what is the best way to position objects with accuracy as I would do in a CAD software. For instance, I need to insert a shaft in a hole and be sure the shaft is well located both in depth and concentricity.

I am asking you guys for some tips to make the most efficient and accurate assembly possible.

Thanks

No way as CAD like, but you can use the empty objects and the local transformation, with snaps and the cursor as helper for target.

Precision work in Blender
Precision Blender Manual
Snapping
Youtube Video for Precison

Hi,

What do you mean by “empty objects” ?

The Empty is an auxiliary objects that can be used in many way to drive your geometry parented to the target as snapping point. Blended Manual: Empty
And I remember in past when I used SolidEdge at work many parts we made for assembly inside these, a guide geometry such as cylinder, to have a concentric point to placing bolts or shaft into particular positions.

Try and see if you can export as .fbx instead, that format supports hierarchies and hopefully you can export the whole assembly that way.

The .fbx export solution worked but created lots of lines connecting my geometry to the ground…
I will follow my workflow (UV mapping, material applying) and see if everything works nicely with that method.

Any idea for the lines ?