Making exhaust with smoke or particle engine

Hello all,

First time post for me. I have been using Blender for a few months now, and I am having the hardest time trying to get a very light trail of exhaust to come out of a jet engine as a plane flies through the sky. The plane has four engines so this obviously complicates things. The plane has no afterburners so I do not require any flames to come out. Any helpful links or YouTube videos would be greatly appreciated. I am using Blender 2.7.

Here is a file that I’ve quickly put together: smoke_trails.blend (847 KB) I’ve inserted some keyframes in the values that I’ve changed to help figure out the basics of doing this. You might want to experiment a little more.

KWD, could you briefly explain what this blend-file does, for those who don’t want to download it?

Also … in the shot as you now envision it, where’s the camera, where’s the plane, and how and where do you see the exhaust trail? For example, in a real jet-engine you often don’t see the exhaust at all, although sometimes you can look up at a contrail and see a dirty-cloud around it which is the kerosene smoke. Some simple compositing-trick involving an animted noise texture might also be enough to persuade the viewer’s eye that “this is exhaust” without the computational overhead of a particle-sim . . . How realistic does it need to be? How much of the viewer’s attention is likely to be devoted to “the smoke?”

I can post my render in a couple of hours. That may help me show the vision that I have. The render has other small issues like noise on the main body, and the engines don’t have the same material as the main body, but I am repairing those later after I get the smoke concept down. The kerosene smoke idea sounds close to what I want. I have never worked with an animated noise texture. It may be what I am looking for. Thank you both for your responses. I will probably be trying the file tonight after work.