Making notes while working in Blender

HI,

Newbie here.

I’m using Blender 2.78 for modelling objects. I would like to make notes of what I’m doing like values I set, colorcodes, a date, comments.

Is it possible to do that and where/how?

KR, Leo

Notepad
Noteblock

or if you REALLY want to do it in blender, ther eis a Text Editor.

you find it the same place as Timeline, 3D View, Dope Sheet, etc… there is a Text Editor. then hit New and ur good to go.

Thanks for the quick reply.

You wouldn’t do it in Blender? Just make notes with a seperate texteditor? It will be more difficult to organise the textblocks in relation to the different process of modelling, like I’m doing now.

Leo

i dont typically make notes. if i have permanent notes for a spesific project i drop it in the text editor, cause then its linked to the blend file and i dont have to find it separately. but i like having a small noteblock with me everywhere i go, so if i need to note anything temprary i use that instead.

having a noteblock the size of your hand is something i recomend anyway. something durable! :slight_smile:

… also in addition to using text > Generic Note addon

still dreaming to have something similar in 3D ie. Creating Mind Maps in Blender
although for now i take a screen shot of text/node and throw it in 3D with Images As Planes

2 Likes

Hi

Check the Grease Pencil…It was made to make notes…In Blender viewport…Select a object…Press d and left click viewport

Write Your notes…Now Your notes is bind to that object…You can turn it off and on in GP layer box or GP color box

Tai

no its not made to make notes… its used in animation. For an animator to be able to sketch out their animation with stick figures before laying out the key frames. that is why you have the ability to draw on differnet frames.