Materialiq: material library for Blender

Hi there Blenderheads! :slight_smile:

wanted to share with you what I’ve been working on for the last 9 months - a material library for Blender:)

There came a day sometime in March when I just couldn’t create another new material that’s always different from the last, gets lost in the file never to be used again… and I wanted to create something universal and consistent that I could reuse easily and alter to current needs.

The scope of the project kind of spiraled out of control and I did so much more than I planned…

You can see the website here: https://polygoniq.com/materialiq

And you can check the BlenderMarket product page here: https://www.blendermarket.com/products/materialiq

Some imagery:

Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this and see people use it in their projects. I am certain it will be very helpful.

Thanks for reading, blend on and please do let me know your thoughts and don’t be afraid to ask questions!

Adam

2 Likes

It looks great! :slight_smile: Are the materials done proceduraly?

Looks like the library is very high quality. The stones are particularly beautiful…

Thank you!:slight_smile:

The materials use bitmap textures in either 2048x2048 px or 4096x4096 px resolutions depending on the pack.

However the way the textures come together is procedural in the sense that there are many Nodes and NodeGroups that combine them and generate other maps from the Diffuse Texture for example.

So the materials themselves are much more than just textures plugged into PrincipledBSDF, there is an entire system that everything is built around.

Thank you :slight_smile: There were many many hours put into it.

The stones were especially hard because their normal maps are very important so generating them correctly took lots of effort.

Hi blenderheads,