May a newcomer ask what may seem a silly question?

I am brand new to the Blender Artists boards. Please forgive my ignorance if I am posting to the wrong group.

I have recently watched a couple of tutorials/informational videos on for Blender 2.8 . The question I wish to ask MAY already have been asked, and addressed on either the boards or on other Blender Discussion Groups. If so, or if this is simply off-topic, please forgive…

It seems that there are fundamental changes to some very often used hot-keys that have been in use for years. There are currently hundreds, nee thousands of tutorials on Youtube, Vimeo and other sites. ALL of these tutorials use hot-key combinations that have been around for (evidently) years. Has anyone thought of the problems that the major reworking of the hot-keys will cause as regards existing Tutorials. I am asking this question as someone who is NOT a beginner (THANKS to existing tutorials!), but someone who is far from expert.

Thank you for your time.

1 Like

Yes, it’s been considered. Here’s what one can say:

In all aspects of Blender - the features, the interface, the behaviour - if we worried about old tutorials staying relevant, we could never improve the software.

However, when making bigger changes to the UI, it’s best to do those in one go, because then tutorials for Blender 2.8 and forwards can stay relevant for as long as possible. Users can also accept some relearning if it doesn’t happen too often.

Blender’s UI has virtually stayed the same for about a decade since version 2.5. When Blender 2.8 ships, there will be tutorials on what’s changed. You’ll be able to quickly learn the differences, and start using Blender 2.8 in no time.

We’ll continue to try and make the best software possible.

Even so, Blender 2.8 ships with a 2.7x keymap, which is identical to what was in Blender 2.79.

5 Likes

Software development has nothing to do with tutorials, it shouldn’t even be mentioned.