migration guides - xsi, maya, 3dsmax, lightwave, cinema4d

If you are a user of other 3d software it would be useful to have lists of keywords that Blender uses that a different word is used in a other major packages.

Ie see the ‘glossary of synonyms’ in this migration guide from Maya

It would be good to make similar pages for xsi, maya, 3dsmax, lightwave, cinema4d, and houdini.

Perhaps a spreadsheet ‘rosseta stone’ type page could be done …

Are there any Blender heads out there familiar with one or more of the above packages who would be willing to help out with such a project?

LetterRip

well i work in maya every day, but do you think it makes much sense
to create such a paper? most people dont even know the power of maya.
the best example are those blender vs maya threads.

as a pro i did not find it difficult to jump between both apps. only one thing
and that are the key shortcuts make it sometimes a bit tricky at the beginning. also as a pro you should know more than one definition of a word
anyway.

from my expereince there is not a big difference between maya’s terms
and blender’s terms anyway. IPO and few other words are truly different but
i think this are only very few parts of blender.

i will take a look into it.

I agree to an extent because I don’t find it difficult to jump between them but there was a time I would have, so maybe people who are new to 3D could benefit. For example, they might be following the Joan of Arc tutorial, which was made for Maya and want to know where the polygon cut tool (or whatever) is and not know that in Blender it is called the knife tool.

Eventually, the software does become quite transparent because they all have similar features but it takes time to realise it and a glossary of terms might come in handy. The only problem I can see is that it would take a lot of time and which software would you compare it to? There’s 3ds, rhino, maya, modo, houdini, cinema4d and more.