Modeling a basin - beginner's question

Hi,

I consider myself a complete beginner though someone with a weakness for perfection.

I wanted to model our bathroom and thought I started with something simple in form - the basin. Here’s a reference image of that basin: http://www.ikea.com/de/de/catalog/products/90180799/. For the sake of simplicity I ignore the three holes cut in to it for now.

So basically it’s a cuboid with something of the form of pill substracted from it. This is very easy to with the boolean modifier, but then my sense of perfection comes into play and I want the model to look realistic in the renders: It should have all the rounded edges along the edges of the cuboid and along the cavity.

Subsurf or beveling modifier works for the cuboid alone, but when the geometry gets complicated by adding the cavity I’m stuck.

I guess there’s a clever way to model the basin but I’m too unexperienced to see it.

Anyone willing to help? Maybe there’s already some kind of tutorial for it…

Thanks!

I would not use bevel modifier nor subsurf. I’d do everything in editmode instead. Try using tools like bevel (CTRL+B), extrude (E) and inset faces (I).

I had a go at making the basin, I’m not an expert so dont now if it the right way but, it seems to work.