Modelling a wooden rowing boat

Last night I thought it to be a good idea to model a wooden row boat for a frozen lake, winter scene I am planning. Sorry if the model is inaccurate, I did it last night whilst I had no internet, and therefore no references!

I have very little experience of modelling, having only ever modelled the companion cube, car wheel, a giraffe and a sledge the rest of my modelling experience comes in the form of mashing up plains to make terrain.

I set out modelling the boat using arrays and curves, and I think it is quite adequate for my scene, but I would like to know, for future reference, how to neaten up the edges and make curves that fit the profile of the boat instead of relying off guess work.

If you look at the back render you can see that it is very messy, I have no idea how to tidy it up other than adding some sort of rim so cover it.

Attachments

well first you should get some cross sections drawings for whatever boat you want to model !

then you can begin to model may be using nurbs curves to shape the hull then add your planks ect…

can you upload the file so we can looks at it if you don’t mind sharing it ?

but to add details if you have only arrays then you need to convert to mesh then you’ll be able to join and add more details i think!
but not certain what you have right now !

hope it helps
salutations

Not a bad boat. As for messy stern, they don’t build the stern that way you know. Stern is typically built flat. If you don’t, even the real boat builders work will look exactly like yours! The lapped joint hull boat like yours is called Clinker-planked. Vikings built the ship like that. By the way, lapping needs to be the other way; planking long edge faces down not up.

Attachments

Thanks Guys!

I will have to look up NURBS. as that is something I am not at all aware of, I have only ever box modelled.