Motion Blur For Photographic Movie?

I’m a traditional stop motion animator (puppet guy) who knows NOTHING about computer animation… so why am I here? Because I’m wondering if there is any possible way to apply the Vector/Motion blur in Blender to traditional photographic animation?

I already know that there are plug-ins I can use for After Effects, Premier and other movie editing software packages but, I simply cannot afford any of those at this time. I’m betting that the answer to my question is NO but, sometimes when I ask a silly question the answer will surprise me.

To be crystal clear about my question… If I were to load an old Bugs Bunny cartoon or Wallace & Gromit clay animation film clip into Blender, is there any chance I would be able to apply motion blurs to that animation?

Thanks in advance!

Neither motion blur and stop motion are my fields, but if you don’t plan to do /any/ CG work, you will probably find Blender frustrating to work with. StopMojo ( http://www.mondobeyondo.com/projects/stopmojo/ ) might be what you are looking for. I never tried it myself, so I have no idea what it can do.

That said, adding motion blur to Wallace & Gromit should, as far as I can tell, not be possible at the first frames of a sequence as there are no frames before the first frame to base the motion blur on.

Again, this is not my field, just a few thoughts.

No, because Blender can not “see” whats inside the plane. Blender can not detect the motion that is happening in a video sequence. Even if you set the plane in motion, all blender could do is render vector blur on a plane in motion.

After Effects has a tool just for this, it is called “Force Motion Blur”. That tool actually detects the pixel movement of footage and tries to guess the blur.

You might be able to fake it with carefully placed directional Blurs. Especially if the blur needs to happen in a predictable way, like left to right or up/down.