mouse movement

Hi there,
i am a total noob in using the game engine (and of course english:o)
i am using blender since 2 years
but today i have decided in going deaper in the secrets of blenders game engine!!!

so i am able to do basic physic simulation and control objects via keyboard or ipo curves.

but i also want to control objects with mouse movement :frowning:
and i dont know the exact commands for doing that (help!!!)

thanks

Hi,

Here is some ways to use the mouse.

First off you might want to make the mouse visible, you can do this like so:
i

mport Rasterizer
Rasterizer.showMouse(1)

If you want to use the mouseā€™s movement to do something then make a mouse sensor set to movement.

Now in a python code do this:

cont = GameLogic.getCurrentController()
own = cont.getOwner()

mouse = cont.getSensor("mouse")

mouse_x = mouse.getXPosition()
mouse_y = mouse.getYPosition()

mouse_x and mouse_y are variables that have the x and y values of the mouseā€™s position in them.

If you want to move an object using the mouse you use a mouse sensor set to mouse over and a left button mouse sensor.

The mouse over has a nice little function called .getHitPosition(), this returns the x,y and z values of where the mouse is over the object (in global co-ordinates).

So, if we want to move a cube around in a scene, we add the cube and add 3 sensors, an always, a mouse over and a mouse left click.

Then by using the .getHitPosition() values and setting the cubes position to those we can make a mouse movement script, but this makes a little problem as the cube will always move towards the camera because it will hit the side of the cube which is +1 of the centre of the cube so when its position is set to the hit position it will always be moving towards the camera by +1.

Hope I didnā€™t lose you there, if I did donā€™t fret it, its not too important.

So if we make a script to do this it could look like this:

import Rasterizer
Rasterizer.showMouse(1)

own = cont.getOwner()