Movement issues (n00b question)

Okay, I’m a n00b at the BGE (I literally started experimenting with it less than a week ago), and I’m just messing around with it for now. Basically, I’ve got a little “level” with a ball rolling around. I’ve tweaked the ball’s movement so it looks really realistic, but it’s still got a problem.

I’ve got the movement set up so that when I hit up, it put force in the Y direction, when I hit right, it puts force in the x direction, etc. I’ve also got the camera set up so it’s locked onto the ball. Unfortunately, if the camera is turned 180 degrees, when I hit up, the ball moves down, if i hit left the ball moves right, etc. Basically the movement changes depending on the cameras view. More accurately, actually, the movement doesn’t change, but I need it to. I need a way for the ball to move in the correct direction local to the camera’s view.

I’m not very good with python, so I couldn’t come up with any scripts or anything…

Did that whole thing make sense? :confused: Thanks for any help.

Just to clarify, what I mean is that no matter which way the camera is viewing, the ball still moves along the global X & Y. I can’t make the movement local, because the ball rotates.

I need a way for the movement to be along the camera’s X & Y, basically.

Vertex Parent it. put a verticie in the middle of the ball and parent the camera to the center of the ball.

Let me try that…

Well, that does fix that problem, but now the camera automatically falls through the floor…
And if I get rid of my original camera logic brick, then it seems that the camera is too stiff; I wanted something more natural like the camera logic brick provides…

EDIT: I basically want to controls to be just like the controls in one of those rolling ball games. i.e. if I held down left or right I’d go in a circle, and up/down would make me go away from/toward the camera. If I start rolling away from the camera, it will follow.

Am I going to have to learn Python?