Moving collections with all it's child objects

Hi,

I’m fairly new to Blender, i wondered if it possible to move a collection with all it’s child objects? I tried by creating a simple collection with 2 cube objects inside, then selecting the collection in the outliner panel and using the move tool. But that doesn’t work.

I’ve watched some videos on parenting and grouping for blender 2.7x. But as Blender 2.8 has a collection based “tree” model i thought it would be logical that somehow you can move a complete collection.

Best,
Bastiaan

Blender: blender-2.80.0-git20181023.13cfb641c6d-x86_64

Hahaha, you are treating blender as a normal/logical software, it is not. The best way to learn blender is to think in advance that it is not an intuitive software. Always expect a weird/non-intuitive way of doing things.
Once you start to see it that way, you’ll be able to handle it, at least that’s the only way I’m able to test blender, otherwise… :v:

4 Likes

Collections still seems to be a work in progress, but there is a “select objects” option on the right click menu in the Outliner panel. So if you select the collection then “select objects”, they all get selected and then you can grab, rotate etc.

On the subject I was hoping Collections would offer me an easy way to duplicate a collection of objects but not yet. If you select objects and duplicate they all end up in the same collection and then they all have to be dragged into their own anyway, which was a bit disappointing. But maybe there are more functions yet to be added. Or I missed something.

2 Likes

You can… If you deselect all objects, and then go over to the outliner and right-click the collection and click select objects, then you can move all the objects inside of that collection… Kinda… :slight_smile:

1 Like