Music Video Animation System

Hi,

today I want to share with you the very first real Testvideo of my Animation System I have been working on for a couple of years.
I think it was around 11 or 12 when I discovered Animusic. I was fascinated by their idea of self-playing instruments and wanted to do videos like this myself and vizualize my own music. The idea stuck with me over the years, when I discovered blender I tried to realise the idea with not much success. I got very excited when I discovered a script called MIDI-Driver for Blender 2.49b. It allowed me to load the MIDI files that contain the necessary data to trigger animations based on the played note and place the animations in the timeline. I played with for a bit for a while but with the release of Blender 2.5 and the change of the core structure unfortunately the script didnā€™t work anymore. There were a few workarounds to do the animation in 2.49b and import it then into 2.5 and above.
But it was cumbersome and being 14 at that time I was sometimes pretty lazy so I didnā€™t follow it any longer.

But the idea remained in my head over the years and when I got introduced to Unreal Engine a couple of years ago, I decided to try to develop a system with which I could create the videos inside the Engine.

I would do modeling, texturing an animations of the instruments in Blender and trigger the respective animation for the note when it would play inside Unreal. I had the raw data stored in my MIDI files: which note plays (Note number), how strong or weak it is played (Velocity), when it plays and how long it is. So in theory it seemed simple but as I didnā€™t have any real programming experience it became very quickly very hard.