My Asteroid

This is a Asteroid I made in blender. I followed the blender guru tutorial so I did not really make it all by my self. There’s a few things I need to fix like all the little rocks disappearing at the end. I just wondered if you guys at the forums had any tips/feed back for me. I’m not that good with blender yet but I’m still learning. Also there is no sound effects yet.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5HBtQfT5CQ&feature=youtu.be

The video is down.

That’s weird. It works for me.

I saw it but, there’s not enough stars and did the rocks go through the asteroid?

The rocks didn’t go through the asteroid but it does kinda look that way. I didn’t put any stars in it because with the particles it looks weird. Is there any thing else you think needs work?

You could use a space back drop to compliment the animation a bit more and get rid of the tiny rocks if they don’t really have a purpose in the animation.

I’m new to this myself but it seems it’s a matter of context since you are tracking the large rock and there are only it and the small ones in the scene plus the camera it’s hard to gauge the relations between them. Maybe if you pulled in from farther away so you could get a better sense of the path of the asteroid and a view of general overall shape of the cluster of small rocks? Or have some of the smaller ones collide with it and bounce of or shatter or something you could get a sense of the weight or velocity, or put something larger in the “background” like the light source that’s illuminating everything. The rocks look good to me though. I dunno It could just be that’s a general problem with objects in space everything is based off relative references.

XeroShadow: I’m working on adding a space backdrop.

Ocyd: Thank’s, I’ll try to make one of the little rocks collide with the big rock.

I’m not sure exactly how you did this, whether your little asteroids are actually modelled rocks or a particles system set to emit as a group of rocks.