My cat attempt

Hi everyone!
I’m blending my cat (in a good way!), but as an engineer with no traditional artistic capabilities whatsoever I would appreciate the input of you talented blender artists. I’m fine with the technical aspects of Blender, but in terms of making things look realistic I’m a bit of a newbie.

LATEST PROGRESS

Eventually I will add fur, subsurface scattering, textures etc (possibly a body too) but first comes the head model:

It is currently a bit lumpy and there is something wrong with the mouth (too wide?), as I modelled this edge by edge using reference images. I now plan to use this as a starting point for dynamic topology sculpting to do the details and cleanup, then I’ll retopologize the mesh again.

Any suggestions on this so far?

Attachments

Hey Py__, welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

And your cat is a good start. Your mesh has nice smooth loops. I can see some ngons on the forehead and near the eyes. But they are easy to fix. Does the first render show the stage of the wires or did you render this earlier? Ears and nose look more detailed in the wire screenshot. From the render I would guess that you are using blender internal as renderer?

Looks good! It really needs some fur around it.

Nice start. Yes the mouth is too wide and the eyes look more like a smooth stone material. As for the lumpiness you could just wait till you start sculpting and use the Smooth brush. Works really well.

I would imagine that some of the shape or feature relationship differences might be in that you are modeling with the intention of adding fur. Your reference is with a photograph of a kitty with fur intact, so I’d imagine that could be a source of trouble. IMO the model looks pretty good for a first run, but by what you wrote I’m assuming that you aren’t perfectly happy with everything about it. I hope this doesn’t come across harsh, just making an observation.

Thanks for your replies, they keep me interested in improving it!