My Custom Built PC - What can I do with this?

Hi All,

I am new to Blender but not very new to 3D. I have been using Daz Studio and Adobe PS for creating still images. However, now I want to move ahead and create my own animated movies and props and environments and what not. So I built this PC with whatever I had. I dont have any money left, so cant go for higher RTX cards. Sorry!
Please let me know if I can use it for Blender and Unreal Engine. ( I will also play games when I am bored :stuck_out_tongue: )

|Processor| AMD Ryzen 7 5800X|
|Motherboard| MSI MPG B550|
|CPU Cooler| DeepCool GAMMAX L240|
|RAM| CORSAIR 16 x 2 3200 MHz|
|SSD| Verbatim 1 TB NVMe M.2|
|HDD| Used WD 1 TB |
|PSU| ANTEC NEO850GM Gold|
|GPU| Galax 3060 OC 1 CLICK|
|Case| Deepcool CL500 4F|
|OS| Windows 10 Pro Lifetime|
|Keyboard| ANT Esports Mk3200|
|Mouse| RAZER Deathadder |
|Monitor| ASUS TUF Gaming VG27AQ|
|UPS| APC 1100 VA BX1100C|
|Ext HDD| 2TB SEAGATE 1 TOUCH|

Many Thanks!

Here is a sample of my work in DAZStudio and PhotoShop. using my simple 6th gen i3 processor and no GPUs.

Hi, looks fine to me for stills and small animations but not for Pixar movies. :slight_smile:
It should be possible to add a second GPU on the MSI board, at least a 2 slot GPU like RTX 3060. You UPS is fine for two cards.

Cheers, mib

1 Like

Thank you for motivation!

Any other inputs?

Just that it’s a really bad time to be looking at buying a rig, for me locally, the price of dGPUs is between 2 & 3 times the MSRP and since this is the major portion (dGPU plus matching PSU and motherboard to optimise GPU performance) of your cost, this can easily double the price of your rig, so much so, that it has me considering buying a Mac Mini but for the lack of Linux support…