My first Blender Project(need help!)

Hello every1!, I’m new to the forums and to Blender as well. Been playing around with Blender for about a week or so and this is what I came up with:

I need some help with the glass material cause as you can plainly see it’s all wacky:o … I used this tutorial to texture it: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro/Every_Material_Known_to_Man/Glass

Also, I wanted to add 2-3 ice cubes and some sort of liquid in the glass(probably scotch:D ). So I need some help finding a Ice cube texture and a liquid texture tutorial or something to show me how to do it.

Also any other imperfections that you can see let me know about them and how to fix them if you can. Remember i’m new to all this so try not to be to brutal on the critizism:p .

Thanks in advance!

n64314–

www.blenderheads.com

our repository, has lotsa tutorials you may find usefull

welcome to blender! :smiley:

you seem to be grasping it quite quick though, having made this after only one week! The glass does look a bit whack, but that also might be because of the reaaaally plain green plane it’s standing on. Maybe these things would help a bit:

• tune down the reflection so you can still see the black and white colors of the chips, but not as sharp as it is now
  • tune up the specularity and hardness, so that you get a nice bright specular spot on the front (in other words, get the vague bright blur on the glass narrower and brighter)
  • tune the IOR down (i’m not sure about this but it looks a bit high)

and i’d say the glass should have a nice transparent shadow, but it looks like a solid shadow now … are all rendersettings on raytracing? (also, is the (spot)light set on raytracing?)