My first ever render!

After months of tutorials and fighting with the default cube, this is my first ever render !
Can you all give me some advice on how can i improve it ?

9 Likes

Very nice atmosphere. I like the lighting a lot. Since I’m a Blender beginner myself, I’m not sure I can gie much advice. One thing I noticed which might be easy to fix: It looks a little strange how the last row of tiles is being cut off very short under the yellow bump strip at the edge of the platform. My eye got caught on that while looking at the render.

Thanks so much for your reply !
How did i not realize that myself ! Should have extended the platform a little bit more.
Said so, i was having a hard time on deciding what to do with the end of the platform and you caught me right away !

Modeling: Good
Texturing: The sign textures look good, but the other materials might need to be replaced.
Look for PBR textures on textures.com or poliigon.com. They both have amazing textures, but I use textures.com because it’s free. There are some free textures on Poliigon too though.
Lighting: Good.
Composition: Good.

The actual edge is probably a little rounded concrete edge on most platforms… but what I tried to point out is how that last visible line of tiles is only visible for maybe one centimeter or so - if you extend the bump strip by that amount to the left, the tiles will finish with a clean grout edge to the bump strip.

And otherwise, this looks awesome! :slight_smile:

I feel bad to admit that i actually got my textures from texture.com
The texture on the red pillar was actually made by me on materialize, it could be my bad skill of creating maps on it and probably im bad on uv unwrapping too.
Is there any tutorial that you would recommend regarding textures ?

Ahhh i see what you meant ! I actually had a reference photo specifically for where the tiles to end when i was creating the scene !

And now that i see it, it looked so different from it ahahha !