My first head render

Hi,

I’m just getting started with 3d. I think blender is easy to use.
I followed a tutorial(Blenderella), but also vidoes about uwmapping and hair.

Hardest thing was to get good light and hair. Still not good.

My first shoot.

Tell my what you think.:evilgrin:

Attachments

You’re just getting started? It looks awesome. The face looks like a photo. The lighting is perfect - her eyes have life in them.
Did you model it from scratch on reference photos?

The only thing that I could mention for improvement is her hair. It looks like painted not like real hair.

Thank you.

I had god reference pictures(downloaded it online somewhere) and I yes I did modell it from scratch. Started out with a simple plane.
I used the reference pictues for uvmapping that is why it’s so realistic cant take credit for that :slight_smile:

I tried to follow tutorials for hair. I have to work harder on hair modelling/render… Maybe something is wrong with my nodes.
I’ll try to post upp more info on my modell later when I’m not at work :slight_smile:

Strands are really hard to get right. Unless you need strand-by-strand animation, using a texture is much more common, especially for game graphics. Basically what they do is create several planes and place a semi-transparent hair texture upon them, like this one: http://lauris71.deviantart.com/art/Golden-Hair-Texture-273638621

This isn’t a fantastic execution, but you can see the technique very well with this model: http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/head-halle-berry-hair-3d-model/485900

Attachments

You should check out Andrew Price’s tutorial in blenderguru.com about rendering realistic hair in cycles. I also believe the key light is too bright. You might want to tune it down. In regards to modelling and texturing they are great! Do you come from a traditional art background? I tackled creating a head a few times and it never turned out quite as good as yours. Hope to see more of your work here.