My path to being a Blender Intermediate user

2023-07-17T21:00:00Z Update 2/60: Characters 1/5

(more in the comments: My path to being a Blender Intermediate user - #10 by figoyg)

2023-06-15T21:00:00Z Update 1/60: Cars1/5
Bugatti 35B (1927)
(more in the comments: My path to being a Blender Intermediate user - #7 by figoyg)

Original post below:
Hi guys,

I’ve been using Blender for the past two years now. Self-teaching from youtube tutorials and the odd course here and there, participating in several challenges (Pwnisher and Amodeladay notably), this has helped me to be more comfortable with the tools and produce various models and animations. I’ve been doing these in my free time after work, it was challenging and stressful but it was very rewarding in the end, learning something new and then applying it to a project. It was also humbling to see the number of things I didn’t know and how good some people are. This made me realize that I have a long way to go before even being called a Blender Intermediate user since my output is yet to reach that level.

So I’ve come up with a self-challenge titled the 5 rule which consists of modeling/sculpting/rendering 5 things in each of the 12 categories below (that I choose based on what I liked and because I want to be a 3D generalist I guess).

I’m planning to do 60 models in total which will help me practice and (hopefully) upgrade my modeling, sculpting, lighting, and rendering.

I’m going to be starting learning Character Animation workshops on AnimationMentor (which uses Maya) very soon so I hope this will also help me to not forget Blender for the duration of that (which is about 18 months).

I’m posting this here publicly in the hopes that it will help me keep track of my progress and not be discouraged from accomplishing this goal. I might not be called an intermediate user at the end but I’ll have some diverse work for my portfolio.