My render feels odd but I don't know why

I spent a decent amount of time trying to figure out what makes my render look weird, I came to the conclusion that I need feedback from a new set of eyes. I would be very grateful for your criticism.

5 Likes

Hey! First off, I would like to say that your work looks great! Good job. Also, I would like to clarify that I am no expert lol so most of what i say is just my gut feeling.
Firstly, I would suggest working with the camera’s positioning. I dont know how tall the robots are but i get the feeling that the camera isnt at human eye level. If it is though then I would maybe suggest bringing the camera closer to get the feeling that the viewer is below the robots.
Second, I feel like the robots blend in with the trees too well. I know that is the purpose of them being that color (to camoflauge) but i think its working too well to where the eye isnt drawn to the robots as much as it should be. For this i would maybe darken the material on the trees. The sun is also doing some work on exposing the robots a little more so maybe you could tweek the value on that?

2 Likes

There is a Blender speech where this blenderhead talks about “the intention of the shot”. Imagine you are there taking a picture of the war machines. Would you stand in front of it 4 meters above the ground? Or would you hide behind a bush and keep yourself as small as possible taking this picture?

Edit: Just a small edit

5 Likes

couple of initial thoughts -

• i’m not sure if it’s 2 separate robots, or 1 robot with 2 turrets and 3 legs.

• the fog/smoke shader itself looks nice, but the placement and density looks like… well, a cloud placed on the ground.

• I don’t care fore the blurring camera lens vignette going on.

3 Likes