My today excercise: fire hydrant (beginner)

I am a self-learning beginner and try to do a daily excercise. I really appreciate every feedback that helps me to improve!

Yesterday and today I’ve worked on a fire hydrant, you can see the reference here.

The focus for me was on modelling. I created all of it in seperated objects, exported everything into an OBJ and imported it into Substance Painter. I used the auto-unwrap function from Substance Painter.

I have two questions:

1. I used a Boolean modifier to create these indentations you see on the head and the base of the hydrant body. These lead to quite unsatisfying topology.

I did not fix that by now and followed the strategy “shut your eyes and advance”. Is this something you would fix… and how? Do you really start to move / merge individual vertices?

1. The second question is about UVs. I avoided UV unwrapping in Blender by simply using Substance Painter for auto unrwap. Whenever I finish such an object I wonder how profis would go on. Do you merge all seperated objects into one and UV unwrap after that? Do you UV unwrap every object on its own? And do you use plugins like UVPackmaster to pack everything together afterwards?

Thanks to everyone who takes the time to read this and give any feedback.

2 Likes

For the indentations, this looks like a retopology case. You can start the way you did it with booleans, but then you might want to rebuild that part of the mesh, with a technique like this:

In your case, you could rebuilt just the indented part, doing the retopo around a single indentation, then duplicate and rotate it around the origin of the model to create all the other indentations. Then, you could either try to stitch that to the rest of the model or just re-create those parts, as they seem to be simple extrusions.

This will not only give you a cleaner topology, but will also allow the borders of the indentations to be beveled or subdivided for a smoother look.