My weight painting is broken!

Before when I was weight painting, I noticed that after changing the weight of a bone some other bones would be dramatically changed as well. When I try to undo the unexpected weights the whole mesh becomes broken. Now, when I try to subtract the weight, instead of subtracting it adds. Can someone please help me? I’ve been trying for days!

Edit: I forgot to put a blend file. Here it is!
http://pasteall.org/blend/index.php?id=50825

Not unless you post a blend file for us to look at… We would just be guessing and wasting yours and our time. I could try hacking your computer, but you didn’t post your IP address either. :smile:

Cheers, Clock. :beers:

So sorry! I’m very new to the blender community and I forgot to put up a blend file. Here it is!
http://pasteall.org/blend/index.php?id=50825

No need to apologise! Your blend file crashes Blender every time I try to open it! Something is seriously wrong, try opening a new file and appending the objects into it one at a time and post again.

Hmmmm, did you make this is 2.8? it opens in 2.8, we need to know this next time! :smile:

So to the problems:

1. Far too few vertices to get a good deformation, add edge loops to correct this.

2. Skeleton not connected so deforms between bones don’t work too well. Add connecting bones, like soldiers, hips etc.

3. Sub-surf Mod far too high, add vertices not bump up Sub-surf mod.

4. Ngons - more than 4 sided polys, work in Quads - 4 sided polys all the time:

Watch Nathan Vegdahl’s Humans Riding tutorials to get you pointed in the right direction.

As a quick test I removed the Armature Mod, Parent to Armature and deleted all vertex groups - this gets back to a state where you can re-parent. then I did an Automatic Weights parent (Select mesh, SHIFT+Select Armature, CTRL+P => Automatic Weights and it worked quite well. Always try this as your first pass then tweak weights with weight painting.