Nail bends with finger

Hi everyone,
I’m making a first-person video game and I’m relatively new with Blender and animating. I’ve made an arm and I rigged it, the first idle animation I made turned out okay, as well as my second animation…
However, now I’m having issues I’ve never seen before. The fingers have longish nails and the nail on the middle finger now decided to start bending along with the rest of the finger?
It hasn’t done that before, what am I doing wrong? I’ve uploaded some screenshots and the file in case anyone could help out. :slight_smile:

You can upload a Blender file herehttp://pasteall.org/blend/ and post the URL if need be. Without seeing the file, I would guess that you have weighted some of the vertexes with another bone. Here is how you can check. Be sure you have checked both boxes on your armature modifier (display modifier in edit mode and also adjust cage). Go into pose mode and pose the armature with the problem. Then select your mesh and go into edit mode. Select a “bad” vertex and check your vertex weights in the N panel to see if you have other bones influencing your weight paint.

I’ll try that! Thank you do much for replying! If it flops, I’ll upload the file here so others can take a look at it :slight_smile:

Usually when a mesh suffers from unexpected deforms you have a vertex weight contamination issue—things like the first bone of the finger having a tiny amount of weight on the fingernails area when only the last bone should have influence there.

Did you auto weighted it? Without looking at the file, my advice is:

• Prepare the mesh for re-weighting
    1. Make sure IK control bones, poles and anything that only acts as a control for other bones have “Deform” unchecked at Bone Properties > Deform
    2. Make sure you don’t have extra bones in the area you want to rig, including hidden bones
    3. Delete all armature-related vertex groups
    4. Place the armature in Rest Pose