Need Feedback on the render of this Interior

Hello,

This is my first time doing a type of Archviz interior.
I know that something is off but i can’t tell what. Some materials are not good like the one on the chimney for example.

But i’m mostly here for render and lighting advice.

Thanks everyone :slight_smile:

Seems you have 2 lightsources outside the house. For realism you should only have one. I would ditch the one casting shadows behind the couch.

It also seems it’s early afternoon, so it’s logical that the main window is facing south, where the sun is.

2 Likes

Indeed i have 2 lightsources, otherwise the left part of the room would have been very dark.
Should i just increase diffuse light bounces to counter that ?

What stands out to me are some of the textures. For example the brick wall. You may need to soften the normal/bump as it looks strange to me. I think this is also a problem with the couch texture (which is seems to low a scale - the threads are massive), and the sacatter cushions. There are plenty of good free textures (e.g. even the free ones on Poliigon would work) so worth trying. You can have great lighting but without appropriate textures the scene will always look like early CGI.

The rug would also benefit from more fibres as it looks very sparse and you can see gaps. Even if that is realstic to the product, on render it looks strange. Personally, I’d change the style of rug to a more shorthair version so you can avoid the various issues that come with particle setups.

My personal taste, but the plant on the window is redundant. Feels off balance and adds eye clutter.

You might also get a more realistic approach if you use the sky texture node rather than HDRI. Crank up the brightness of the background node - I often find anything from 3 to 30 is required. I also use 20-32 light bounces most of the time. Anywhere from 1000 to 4000 samples might be required.

1 Like