Need help with Water Material

Hi there,
I’m new to Blender, So can you guys suggest any good tutorials or tips on how to make water that I created more clear and watery? :smile: I worked quite some time on the underwater world and want it to be visible through the water.
I’m attaching screenshots of the project. For the water material, I followed some tutorial and had no idea what I was doing, and when the results didn’t come up as good I didn’t know what to change in node settings. Any suggestions of good tutorials to understand shading basics would help :v:
Thanks in advance!

P.S I forgot to mention I’m rendering in Cycles

I don’t know much about water but first thing I see is the Volume density is at 0.200
Volume is kind of sensitive, so even just 0.02 is something, so try values under 0.200

2 Likes

Thanks ! You’re right reducing density value worked and the result looks much better now

Lol nice
And goodluck

1 Like

1-https://www.3d-wolf.com/products/materials
2-http://blendermada.com/materials/?engine=cyc&category=glass&keyword=
3-Blender 2.82a, active > material library vx addon
Water: IOR = 1.33

1 Like

I’m working on physicall acurate water material for cycles. It is not finished yet but absorbtion part is done. To be able to do it in right way you need to understand how water works. Principled volume is not a shader you want to use as it is not behaving correctly in therms of light absorbtion.

First of all you have micro particles in water that differs clean and transparent ocean water from dirty lake. This thing will impact on your transparency.

Second thing is how the light is absorbed. Every wavelength is absorbed in different way. You need to create a model of water absorbtion and then use it as a source for volume. But not for principled as it works different way.

Third thing is depth of your scene. You should be albe to see throught 5m depth with no big problems. If you go deeper your seening will be heavily limited.