Need some help getting this model right.

Hello everyone. I just got blender a few weeks ago, so I’m still a noob, and I need some advice on how to do this best.

Anyway, I’m attempting to model a pencil right now. I’m having trouble with materials and ect, but that’s in another thread.

Here’s a picture:

I used a cone and a cylinder, connected them together, and extended the cylinder. The bit on the end was done with some duplicating + scaling and then manually connecting all the edges together one by one. Then I extended it out about as far as it should go. Then I reached back in, pulled the inner tube out past the metal bit, and done.

I’ve seen some of the more advanced work, you guys are probably laughing at me for doing it so noobly :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, I’m realizing now that the cylinder isn’t going to be able to be separated into a little area with pencil graphite and a little bit of inner pencil shaving.

So my question is. How do I approach this issue? I’m looking to continually expand my Blender knowledge so if someone could give me more then one way to do this, I would appreciate it. Would it be possible to use a manual paintbrush or sculpting tool (I haven’t gotten into those areas yet, soon) or would I be able to manually add a bunch of ridge cuts and tweak them into position?
Would it even be possible for me to make a little tiny tube and stick it where the lead should be?

Anyway, anything that would help would be appreciated, thank you.

Hey Meed, Now to start I’m very new to Blender as well but I think you went about modelling the pencil in a difficult manner.

Try again, this time start with a cylinder or circle.

• Go into edit mode (tab) , then select the face select (ctrl + tab)
  • Press (E) for extrude. Extrude the face until desired length and click to apply.
  • Switch to top view (you should only see a circle) Select the face press (E) apply extrusion.